Hollow

disenchanted with the world

deliberate laksadaisy with a razor sharp edge

he smells like flowers

loves his daddy

2 badges short of an eagle scout

I could say that’s all I know about him

but it wouldn’t be true

….but everything else isn’t fit for words

he plays guitar and

he talks more than I do

because I can’t speak when he’s around

somebody shut the french door

the words don’t even make it to my throat

I’m too busy listening

I don’t want to miss anything he says

it comes out crooked

or maybe thats the just the way I’m hearing it

And it’s not what it sounds like — I’m not in love with him

it’s different….

his humor is drier than the drought in Texas this year

Strange that we came together when it finally rained

and what a beautiful sight to behold

to see him like I have

I’m willing to learn something he’s not trying to teach me

and it’s so obvious

but I just can’t seem to grasp it

and what he says he wants

isn’t me

but I’m something to do in the mean time

until something better comes along

Or maybe we’re both tired of waiting for that

and this really is a victory

and not just our hollow bodies

trying to make sense of the time we have left.

©2012 All Rights Reserved

Image

About pkathleen

Just a displaced Midwestern girl...looking for a bridge to the rest of my story.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment