Yet….

Irrevocable
that’s what he is to me
Can’t be undone
I will never
break free
and I’ve been too long
caught in this strife
Lonely and bitter
cuts like a razor blade —
worse
any knife
would leave less of my heart
in its skewer
untwisted
pure
straight from the source
impossible to revoke
unchanged
blood unfettered
apocolyptic horse
not to be recalled
once free from the stable
dictionary definition
appalled but unable
to stop
it was started so long ago
binding, immutable
and how far would you go
for the one and only
perfect fit
effortless ecstacy
so intense so serene
such a depth to this passion
is to wake in a dream
and find yourself lost
in a forest so deep
that to find your way out
you must go back to sleep
this
irretrievable
unsteady yet fixed
conclusive, unchangeable
final, not mixed
are these signals
unalterable unquietable and undone
He
is my
one
and I was his first
and he planted in me
an unquenchable thirst
that no other since
has been able to fill
and the thought of his return
shakes loose something still
in my bones such an ache
in my mind such a madness
unforgettable love
and so much sadness
in between
the days
since we first met
and our story
isn’t over
yet…

Image

About pkathleen

Just a displaced Midwestern girl...looking for a bridge to the rest of my story.
This entry was posted in Love, Poetry, relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment